Legacy of Leadership Award

Harry S. Truman Legacy of Leadership

Harry S. Truman Legacy of Leadership Award


The Harry S. Truman Legacy of Leadership award was established in 2010 by the Harry S. Truman Library Institute – the private, nonprofit partner of the Truman Presidential Library and Museum – to honor America’s 33rd President and to recognize individuals who have a sustained and distinguished record of serving our nation and its democratic ideals.

The recipient will have shown qualities exemplified by Harry Truman, who served his county, his state, our nation, and the world without regard for personal reward. Like President Truman, award recipients demonstrate courage, wisdom, foresight, humility, and a willingness to be accountable for the difficult actions and decisions required of a true leader.

Truman said, “Do your duty and history will do you justice.” Through the Harry S. Truman Legacy of Leadership Award, the Truman Library Institute seeks to remind our nation’s citizens of the universal wisdom of this message, and to inspire all to seek paths of purpose and service.

Past Award Recipients

2010      James A. Baker, III
2011      Christopher “Kit” Bond
2012      Dr. Robert M. Gates
2013      General Richard B. Myers
2014      Dr. Donna E. Shalala
2015      The Hon. Robert J. Dole
2016      Dr. Henry A. Kissinger
2017      Rep. James Clyburn & Rep. John Lewis
2018      David McCullough
2019      Dr. Madeleine K. Albright
2020     Gen. James. N. Mattis
2021     Samantha J. Power
2022    Ambassador William J. Burns