Board of Directors

Progress occurs when courageous, skillful leaders seize the opportunity to change things for the better.

Harry S. Truman

Honorary Chair

Clifton Truman Daniel
Eldest Grandson of
President Harry S. Truman


Clyde F. Wendel, Board Chair
Vice Chairman (Ret.)
UMB Bank

Adam P. Sachs, Vice Chair
Husch Blackwell LLP

Jeannine Strandjord, Board Vice Chair
Chief Integration Officer (Ret.)
Sprint Corporation

The Hon. Eileen Weir
Independence, Missouri

John A. MacDonald, Board Treasurer
Vice President & Treasurer
Hall Family Foundation

Lisa Hardwick, Secretary
Missouri Court of Appeals, Western District


Merilyn K. Berenbom
Community Volunteer

Paul M. Black
Chief Executive Officer

Maureen McMeel Carroll
Executive Director
McMeel Family Foundation

Robert P. Dunn
Vice President — Community Affairs
JE Dunn Construction Company

Josh Earnest
Senior Vice President and Chief Communications Officer
United Airlines

Susie S. Evans
Community Volunteer

Kari Frederickson, Ph.D.
Professor of History
University of Alabama

Greg Gunderson, Ph.D.
Park University

Harvey L. Kaplan
Partner (Ret.)
Shook, Hardy & Bacon

Charlotte L. Kemper
Foundation Office Director
Commerce Bank

Kay Martin
Community Volunteer

Bridget McCandless, M.D.
President and CEO (Ret.)
The Health Care Foundation of Greater Kansas City

Leigh Nottberg
Leigh & Tyler Nottberg Family Foundation

Patrick J. Ottensmeyer
Chief Executive Officer
Kansas City Southern

Karen Pack
Community Volunteer

Jason C. Parker, Ph.D.
Professor of History
Texas A&M University

James D. Rine
President, Kansas City Region
UMB Bank

Chris Rosson
Executive Director
Teach for America

Marny Sherman
Community Volunteer

Meyer J. Sosland
Director of Operations and Executive Editor
Sosland Publishing

Timothy W. Triplett
General Counsel
Black & Veatch

David Von Drehle
The Washington Post

Thomas R. “Buzz” Willard
President and CEO
Tower Properties

Ex-Officio Directors

Alex Burden
Executive Director
Truman Library Institute


Kurt Graham
Harry S. Truman Library and Museum